1. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Golden Lion
2. Moby – If Things Were Perfect
3. Electronic – Soviet
4. Rodrigo y Gabriela – Orion
5. Sigur Rós – Hjartað Hamast
6. Luminous Frenzy – Three Cliffs Bay
7. Black Sabbath – Planet Caravan
8. Benjamin Zephaniah – Slow Motion Dub
9. The Kills – Kissy Kissy
10. Moby – Rushing
11. Electronic – Get The Message
12. Sigur Rós – Sæglópur
13. The Smiths – I won’t share you
14. Fleet Foxes – Giant Sun

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Grammy-nominated indie rock band from New York. ‘Golden Lion’ was a single from their second album ‘Show Your Bones’ (2006). Band members: Karen O (vocals/piano), Nick Zimmer (guitar/keyboards), and Brian Chase (drums).

Moby – muiti-award-winning American singer-songwriter/DJ with a passion for ecstatic dance music. ‘If Things Were Perfect’ and ‘Rushing’ are both taken from the blues-infused album ‘Play’ (1999) which dominated the worldwide charts for two years and sold over over 10 million copies.

Moby - photo by Sunny Khasla ©

Electronic – alternative dance supergroup formed by ex-Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr and New Order singer Bernard Sumner. ‘Soviet’ and ‘Get the Message’ (which reached no 8 in the UK charts) are taken from their debut album Electronic (1991). In a recent BBC interview Johnny Marr cited ‘Get the Message’ as the “best song I’ve written”

Rodrigo y GabrielaRodrigo Sanchez and Gabriela Quintero are Mexican guitar maestros whose demonic acoustic sound encompasses Hispano-classical influences as well as thrash metal and hard rock. ‘Orion’ is a Metallica cover from their second album Rodrigo y Gabriela (2006)

Sigur Rós – hail from iceland, and rightly claim to bring you the beautiful landscape of their homeland with their music. Best known for their ethereal sound, and singer Jonsi‘s falsetto vocals, their first album ‘Ágætis byrjun’ (featuring the track ‘Hjartað Hamast’) was hailed by critics as one of the greatest of its time. ‘Sæglópur’ the second Sigur Rós track in this mix, was a single from the album Takk (2005). Band members: Jón þor (jónsi) birgisson (vocals, guitars), kjartan (kjarri) sveinsson (keyboards), orri páll dýrason (drums) and georg (goggi) holm (bass)

Luminous Frenzy – London-based psychedelic rock band who “brilliantly echo Portishead in their slightly off centre sampledelic eeriness, cinematic soul music that also tweaks and teases the brain”. ‘Three Cliffs Bay’ is their acclaimed first single (2007). Band members: Luminous (vocals), Frank Frenzy (guitar/vocals), Adam Thomas (guitar), Steve Hands (drums), Andrew MacDonald (bass).

Luminous Frenzy at the ICA London - photo by Inga Tillere ©

Black Sabbath – British band who helped define the heavy metal genre with the quadruple-platinum album ‘Paranoid’ (1970), from which the track ‘Planet Caravan’ is taken. Band members: Ozzy Osbourne (vocals), Geezer Butler (bass), Bill Ward (drums) and Tony Iommi (guitar)

Benjamin Zephaniah – influential British dub poet. ‘Slow Motion Dub’ appears on the limited edition album ‘Naked & Mixed Up’ EP (2005), Benjamin’s collaboration with the UK’s premier hip hop producer Rodney P

Benjamin Zephaniah

The Kills – rock band formed by American singer Alison Mosshart and British guitarist Jamie Hince. Renowned for their “searing guitars, driving rhythms and sexually charged lyrical savvy”. ‘Kissy Kissy’ is from their first album ‘Keep on Your Mean Side’ (2003)

The Smiths – iconic indie rock band rooted in the song-writing partnership of guitarist Johnny Marr and singer Morrissey. ‘I Won’t Share You’ is the final track on their final album: ‘Strangeways Here We Come’ (1986). Apparently, all four ex-band members – including Andy Rourke (bass) and Mike Joyce (drums) – have cited it as their favourite Smiths album.

Fleet Foxes – American genre-defying band of the moment whose brand of folk, rock and pop, and impeccable vocal harmonies, has created an international stir. ‘Sun Giant’ is the title track on their second EP (2008). Band members: Robin Pecknold (lead vocals, guitar), Skyler Skjelset (lead guitar, mandolin), Christian Wargo (bass, vocals), Casey Wescott (keyboards, mandolin, vocals), Joshua Tillman (drums, vocals), Morgan Henderson (multi-instrumentalist)

Featured artists include vegan solo acts or bands with at least one vegan member. (Source articles contained in red links)

Why only ‘Vegan Artists’? Well not a lot of people know that some of the most innovative and sublime music out there happens to have been made by vegans. And the people need to know!